#1022: White Walker

WHITE WALKER

GAME OF THRONES: LEGACY COLLECTION

WhiteWalker1

As awful as the characters in Game of Thrones may get, the show likes to devote at least a portion of every season to reminding us that, no matter how bad things may seem, there’s perpetually a greater threat in the horizon in the form of the White Walkers. Whoever may be left standing after after all the warring factions have settled will still have to deal with these ugly suckers. So, for my second entry in Westeros Week, I’ll be taking a look at one of their number. Let’s see how the White Walker fares!

THE FIGURE ITSELF

WhiteWalker2The White Walker was released in the first series of Funko’s Game of Thrones: Legacy Collection. He’s figure 3 in the line-up, which weirds me out for some reason. He feels like a 6 to me, but I don’t know why. There were two versions of the Walker available: regular and glow-in-the-dark. Mine is the regular. We’ve seen a few White Walkers over the course of the show, most of which share a number of common traits (excepting the Night King, of course), but they all have a bit of their own flair. This particular figure is based on the White Walker that attacks Sam in the Season 2 finale, which is probably the closest look we’ve really gotten at one of them. The figure stands 6 ½ inches tall and has 28 points of articulation. Sculpturally, he’s a little skinnier than the Walker we saw on screen, especially in the arms and shoulders, but he’s not terribly far off. The level of detail on this guy is quite impressive, even among the other Legacy figures I’ve looked at. There’s no part of this guy that doesn’t have some bit of sculpted texturing. His skin is rough and decaying and his clothing is worn and decrepit. If there’s one part of this sculpt I’m not 100% sold on, it’s the hair. It’s a separate piece, glued in place, like a lot of the hair in this line. However, this time, it feels like a wig, not just because of the obvious connection, but also because it feels a bit under-detailed and artificial when compared to the rest of the figure. It also flows outward at an odd angle, which makes getting the head into a pose where the hair looks natural quite difficult. The paintwork on the Walker continues the same trends seen with the sculpt. The hair once again sticks out, being rather starkly contrasting, especially right at the edge where it meets the head. The rest of the paint, however, does a wonderful job of highlighting and accenting all of the cool sculpted textures on the sculpt, making the figure look quite lifelike. The White Walker includes a spear, which fits pretty well in his hands. I had a bit of difficulty getting my figure to hold it, and noticed that one of his wrists was almost broken in the process, so be careful there.

THE ME HALF OF THE EQUATION

I picked up the White Walker at the same time as Ned. I really hadn’t intended to get this guy, since the White Walkers don’t really “wow” me on the show, at least in terms of design. But, he was cheap, and I didn’t have him, so there it is. I’m actually pretty happy with this guy, so I’m glad I found one for a deal, or else I never would have gotten him.

(Yes, I know this last picture is off.  Robb never fought a Walker, but I didn’t have Jon, so Robb served as a stand-in)

WhiteWalker3

Leave a Reply

