Two Years

Year2

Well, it’s been another year.  How about that?

In my second year of reviews here at The FiQ, I wrote a whopping 254,420 words about 499 unique figures, 3 vehicles, a movie, and one very lovely pink stapler.  The overall number of figures reviewed has dropped from last year’s 528, but the word count took a pretty substantial jump.  Guess I’ve gotten a little bit wordier.

This year brought the site’s total views up past 50,000 (more than doubling those from last year) and got the site another 31 followers (for a total of 84).  We also had another 53 comments, excluding the ones made by myself.

Looking at the contents of individual reviews, Minimates are still the most prevalent line, though they’ve fallen from 82 reviews to 74 reviews.  Not a huge fall, but it’s there.  Marvel Legends are steadily becoming a contender, however, making up 54 of this year’s reviews.  As of today, I have reviewed 32.1% of my collection.  My collection has gone up another 400 from where it was last year, surpassing 3000 unique figures.

Going away from myself for just a moment, this year the site had a total of 19 guest reviews.  They came from four different reviewers (two of whom were new additions this year) and amounted to another 10,782 words on the site.  Thanks guys!


 

I’d like to take a moment to acknowledge the figures I reviewed this year by taking a look at my top five favorite items I reviewed this year, listed in order of review:

#0436: COURAGE SERIES – I AM ELEMENTAL

IAE1

These are the figures that finally broke me into the whole Kickstarter thing.  They’re a pretty cool idea and the end result was quite a bit of fun.  Add in how wonderfully interactive their creators have been with the toy community (including sending me a very nice thank you email after I reviewed my set) and you’ve got what was probably my most pleasant reviewing experience of the year.

#0438: ALIEN QUEEN – ALIENS (NECA)

Queen3

This one was a big want, and I loved how she turned out.  NECA really pulled out all the stops on the Queen, making her the proper center piece of the line.  I loved her so much that I am seriously considering buying the red repaint later this year.

#0548: NEXUS – ASSEMBLE BORG NEXUS

Nexus1

Wow, this guy sure came out of nowhere.  Tim stumbled upon this line, and I absolutely loved every figure I got out of it.  However, Nexus, with his near infinite interchangeability, took the cake.

#0588: RIPLEY & HICKS – ALIENS MINIMATES

Ripley&HicksMM1

Moving off of #0438, Aliens is my favorite movie, and Minimates are my favorite toy line.  Putting the two together is just heaven to me.  Plus, DST knocked it out of the park with this pair, making them easily my favorite ‘mates of the last year.

#0685: LT. ELLEN RIPLEY – ALIENS (NECA)

RipleyAliens1

Yeah, Aliens dominated this list a bit. Sorry guys, it was a big year for Aliens stuff.  This is the figure I’ve wanted since NECA kicked off their Aliens line, and they really put the effort in on this one.

—HONORABLE MENTIONS—

#0415: BATMAN – BATMAN: ANIMATED (DC COLLECTIBLES)

BatmanTNA1

DC Collectibles’ foray into the animated universe was not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but the nostalgic side of me loved having a figure that lived up to the cartoon that spawned this line.

#0542: CAPTAIN AMERICA – MARVEL RETRO FIGURES (DST)

CapRetro1

This figure has to be one of the few times that writing a review has had such a profound effect on my enjoyment of a figure.  I was initially disappointed by this set, but by the end of my review that was no longer the case.


 

Thanks once again to all of my faithful readers who have stuck with me all of my crazy rambling!

That’s pretty much it…

2 responses

Leave a Reply

